M5 occurring even without it in the file.

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

M5 occurring even without it in the file.

Postby bhdavis » Mon Jan 15, 2024 5:34 pm

UCCNC Ver. 1.2111

I'm running a short repeat file where the Z-axis moves out of the way at the end of the file so I can swap out the board being cut. Then I repeat the file on the new
board.

I don't want the spindle turning off at the end of each cycle. I've removed the M5 from the end of the cut file but the spindle is still turning off at the end of the file. I'm guessing there is some embedded code that performs an M5 at the conclusion of a file run whether there is an M5 in the file or not?

Am I interpreting this correctly? If so is there a way to turn off this feature? I didn't see anything in the configuration page of the software.

Thanks,
BH
bhdavis
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:36 pm

Re: M5 occurring even without it in the file.

Postby dezsoe » Mon Jan 15, 2024 6:52 pm

What are the last 2-3 lines of your g-code?
dezsoe
 
Posts: 2079
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: M5 occurring even without it in the file.

Postby bhdavis » Mon Jan 15, 2024 7:20 pm

Short file. Here's the whole thing. It's just cutting a couple wall hanger keyhole slots in the backs of some plaques.

There was a M9 at the bottom to turn off dust collection and vac hold down. Even with that removed (as shown below) the spindle turns off at the end.

Thanks for you input.

BH



G90
G0 Z1
M7 [Turn on dust collect. and hold down]
M3 S18000


G0 X19. Y3.
S18000
G0 Z0.25
G1 Z-0.3115F50
F100
G1 Y3.5
G1 X19.01
G1 Y3.
G0 Z0.25

G0 X19. Y3.
G1 Z-0.3125
F100
G1 Y3.5
G1 X19.01
G1 Y3.
G0 Z0.25

G0 X30.99 Y3.
G1 Z-0.3115
F100
G1 Y3.5
G1 X31.
G1 Y3.
G0 Z0.25

G0 X30.99 Y3.
G1 Z-0.3125
F100
G1 Y3.5
G1 X31.
G1 Y3.
G0 Z0.25

G0 Z1

G0 X50 Y10
bhdavis
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:36 pm

Re: M5 occurring even without it in the file.

Postby dezsoe » Mon Jan 15, 2024 7:54 pm

M2 and M30 must turn off the spindle and the coolants. If there is none of them then it assumes M2. Finish your code with M0 to pause then M47 to restart the cycle.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 2079
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: M5 occurring even without it in the file.

Postby bhdavis » Mon Jan 15, 2024 7:57 pm

Thanks.
Actually M3 turns on my spindle and M5 turns it off. If I remember right M7 and M9 turn the coolant on and off. I'm using that output to activate the dust collector and vac hold down relays instead of coolant since it's a woodworking router with an air cooled spindle.

I was thinking about using a PAUSE and recycle to the top but was going to have to look up the M-code to do it. Looks like you saved me the trouble.

Much appreciated.

BH
bhdavis
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:36 pm

Re: M5 occurring even without it in the file.

Postby Battwell » Fri Jan 19, 2024 12:22 pm

I replace m30 with m47

Add m1 where you want to pause
Uc300eth on router and mill.
UK uccnc powered machine sales. https://cncrouter.uk/atc-cnc-routers.htm
Automateanything/duzzit cnc/mercury cnc
Battwell
 
Posts: 832
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: M5 occurring even without it in the file.

Postby bhdavis » Fri Jan 19, 2024 12:43 pm

dezsoe wrote:M2 and M30 must turn off the spindle and the coolants. If there is none of them then it assumes M2. Finish your code with M0 to pause then M47 to restart the cycle.



Sorry.........should have posted. The above worked. M0 next to last pauses the file and advances the cursor to the M47 line where it waits for me to hit the START CYCLE button on screen when I'm ready. Then hitting the START CYCLE button makes it go back to the beginning of the file and run it again. Perfect !!!

Thanks........much appreciated.
BH
bhdavis
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:36 pm


Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests

cron