Offline mode changes machine coords. Isn't that dangerous ?

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Offline mode changes machine coords. Isn't that dangerous ?

Postby JeCaWo » Mon Dec 18, 2023 6:17 pm

Hello. I have 10-15 years practical experience as a hobbyist. And now this silly question ...

I noticed that the machine coordinates in UCCNC change while in offline mode. I routinely clamp my material somewhere on the CNC bed, then use offline mode to align the gcode with the material. But if the machine coords change during this process, wouldn't that mean the soft limits could be triggered? Or the z-probing could fail, couldn't it?

Which begs the question (after 10-15 years :oops: ) what is the official way to align gcode with the actual material location on the machine's bed? [*]
Jeff

[*] I could see how to do it if I can move the machine to the zero x/y point of the gcode. But say the gcode describes a square around (0,0) and I want to specify the top right corner of that square in my material. My past procedure was to physically jog the machine to the top right corner, go offline and move the cursor in the toolpath preview to the top right corner also. Then go online again. My soft limits would be faulty now, wouldn't they?
JeCaWo

Re: Offline mode changes machine coords. Isn't that dangerou

Postby JeCaWo » Tue Dec 19, 2023 3:08 pm

There is this second use case, where the offline mode really messes with me. I almost forgot: