Probing Issues

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Probing Issues

Postby eclsnowman » Sat Mar 27, 2021 9:19 pm

Hello, I built a new CNC around Christmas and have the machine working how I want for the most part. The only issue I am struggling with is the whole M6 tool change and probing setup in UCCNC Software. I have read through the forums a bunch and have tried a lot but it just doesn't seem to be working as expected or as it does in the posts/videos I have watched. Here are the details of my current machine:

My CNC Design: https://photos.app.goo.gl/GeM3xftq8Mn7LKbW8
Controller: AXBB-E with UCSB Breakout Board
Software Version: UCCNC V1.2113
Macro: Latest M6 Macro I could find by dezsoe (11-30-20) located here: https://www.forum.cncdrive.com/viewtopi ... =11&t=2871
Probing Plugin: Latest version I could find V1.3.3.9-Beta from here: http://www.szentkereszty.net/plugins/Probing.zip

Here is what I understand should happen (per KS14 in this post: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1763&start=40)
- Home machine
- Press press "mobile probe" button
- Jog to mobile probe position.
- Press "Set as mobile probe pos"
- "Start probing" button will flash
- Press "start probing" button
- Mobile probe position saved LED will light
- Jog to work piece
- Position probe below at work piece
- Press " Reference probe as work piece" = MACHINE WILL START PROBING
- "Start Probing" button will flash
- Set mobile probe at your mobile probe position
- Press "Start Probing" button = MACHINE WILL MOVE TO MOBILE PROBE POSITION AND PROBE THEN MOVE BACK TO WHERE IT STARTED
- Run your program
- Change tool
- Press "Start Probing" MACHINE WILL GOTO MOBILE PROBE POSITION, PROBE, AND RETURN TO WHERE IT STARTED.
I think the Fixed probe is similar. Hope this helps


The problem is this:
I Press Set as mobile probe pos
Start probing button does not flash So I cannot select it.
So I never get the Mobile probe position saved LED on

Can anyone let me know where I can start to troubleshoot? Also I see it has been a fairly long time since there was a UCCNC software update (over a year). Is there still progress goin on? I hope I didn't pick a platform that is languishing. All the cool screensets and customizability is what drew me to UCCNC over Mach or LinuxCNC. I just hope I made the correct choice.

Thanks for any help you guys can provide.
eclsnowman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 4:50 pm

Re: Probing Issues

Postby cncdrive » Sat Mar 27, 2021 10:01 pm

Hi,

Dezsoe will answer your probing question.

I'm not sure why you want an update? What new function are you looking for? Please let us know.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3718
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Probing Issues

Postby dezsoe » Sat Mar 27, 2021 10:07 pm

As you see the latest probing plugin is from January. So things happen, even if a bit slowly.

The Set as mobile probe pos will work only if you've homed the machine, selected Tool probe and Mobile probe.

BTW: your machine is very nice, congrats!
dezsoe
 
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Probing Issues

Postby eclsnowman » Sat Mar 27, 2021 10:55 pm

Dezsoe: It was so simple and I feel so dumb... You were right: I had selected simple probe was I was testing to make sure everything was working. I was still on that. So for others out there that are intellectually challenged like me, Here is what I did wrong:

I was doing this:
Image

I needed to do this:
Image

CNCdrive: I am not trying to be hard on the software. It is just that anytime I don't see updates to software... any software... for long periods of time, I wonder why. I am happy with the software so far, the newer UCNC screensets kill Mach3 and that massively dated UI they have. But the version of UCCNC up on the main website page listed as "Current" is 1.2111. If 1.2113 is over a year old now from the forum post, why is it still 1.2111 on the website. Also with the changes to probing and screens it seems to require a lot of combining things from community posts. It just feels like probing in 1.2113 is only 95% completed, and isn't a cohesive solution yet. Again I am not trying to be overly critical, it's just what it feels like being a newbie coming in and wrapping my head around it. I am sure many community members that have been with the platform a long time can attest to the progression and how far it has come.
eclsnowman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 4:50 pm

Re: Probing Issues

Postby dezsoe » Sat Mar 27, 2021 11:37 pm

The probe screen evolves on its own way. Because it's a plugin it can be updated independently, so when some users found some bugs and had some good ideas, I could release updates. And yes, you are right, there are some more things missing from the probe screen, but the development is not finished.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Probing Issues

Postby eclsnowman » Sun Mar 28, 2021 12:17 am

Well, I just want to say thank you for the support and the nice features. I really appreciate the functionality and the design.

On a side note is there a template file out there for the button design on the 2019 screenset. I have been editing a few things, like changing mist button to say "VAC (M7)", etc. Little things. I made a rough template in Pixlr so I could make new buttons, but the font and line weights are a little off. If they exist out there it would save me some time and keep a more cohesive feel.

Again, thank you for the quick reply and on the weekend from Hungary no less (it's late on your side of then pond). Once I get things setup and feel more comfortable with the interface I plan to make some videos and tutorials for my build to help others building their own. A rising tide raises all boats.
eclsnowman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 4:50 pm

Re: Probing Issues

Postby ger21 » Sun Mar 28, 2021 4:46 am

Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 2006
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Probing Issues

Postby cncdrive » Sun Mar 28, 2021 2:30 pm

Hi,

Ok, I thought you were missing a specific feature or something is why you mentioned that the latest update was a long time ago.
Yes, the virus situation slowed us down a lot and also because the 1.2111 and 1.2113 are both very stable with minor number of not too serious bugs only therefor we did not hurry to push out a new release.
If you remember 2-3 years ago we pushed out new releases about monthly when important and serious developments were done.
Now we still fighting with the covid situation, it puts on us lots of extra work and problems so development going really much slower now, but we will catch up don't worry.

And the probing is a plugin, so however in the screenset it is integrated into the UCCNC in the default installation, but the plugin is doing the "work" and so it can be updated independently from the main UCCNC software core and a few updates already happened in last year.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3718
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Probing Issues

Postby eclsnowman » Sun Mar 28, 2021 8:54 pm

ger21 - That is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you.

cncdrive - I totally understand. It has been a hard year for everyone. I wish you and the team all the best. Stay healthy, and I look forward to the new things you guys come up with once the world climbs out of this situation we find ourselves in.
eclsnowman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 4:50 pm

Re: Probing Issues

Postby CL_MotoTech » Mon Mar 29, 2021 9:15 pm

I'm no help on the topic at hand, but I have to say that I am actually seriously impressed that the software has gone more than a year without need for an update. Microsoft, eat your heart out.
CL_MotoTech
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:50 pm


Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests