Total novice, need help with software setup.

This is the place to talk about and share things related to CNC plasma machines using UCCNC

Total novice, need help with software setup.

Postby John Bewick » Mon Sep 28, 2020 4:18 pm

Hi all. First let me say I am an OAP with very limited computer knowlege. Allright, I know how to do the basic things but the grey cells need gentle coercing these days so please bear with me if I keep asking questions. I have built my plasma table and I am using a AXBB controller with UCCNC and a torch float switch, was hoping to have a Price THC installed, but not available at the moment. I have Sheetcam installed on computer, and trying to set it up for the table. This is where I am completely stuck. UCCNC manual say nothing about plasma set up, and I just can't get my head around how the torch operation works. I don't currently have a plasma installed because I want to be sure I can master the set up before that investment, so I thought I can just use something in place of a torch to simulate it to check operation. Can someone please walk me through the various stages of Z axis set up, and how it works, in as plain and simple terms as possible. I have the UCCNC set up to being able to make the X and Y axis move with G0 commands. Also Sheetcam does not list UCCNC in the post processor list, so which one would I use. Trying to avoid crashing the machine before I start to cut anything.

Please help me .

John
John Bewick

Re: Total novice, need help with software setup.

Postby cncdrive » Tue Sep 29, 2020 12:00 pm

Hi John,

MAch3 post processor in SheetCAM should be working fine with the UCCNC.
However UCCNC has extra functionalities like the THC inhibit function which is not absolutely required for operation, but it makes plasma THC control operation better and safer, so you might want to edit the SheetCAM post processor with making sheetCAM to add those macro calls into the proper places.