AXBB-E New Installation

This Section is for users to discuss hardware

AXBB-E New Installation

Postby jaydee » Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:29 am

Hi Guys,
I have a new AXBB-E and enable code. Installed software 1.2111 on a Win10 machine.
I have tried,
Connection using a fixed IP direct cable.
Connection using dynamic IP via router.

I can ping the unit on 10.10.10.0 and get a reply but the UCxxx utility only reports "UCxx Device was not found"
Tried a couple of different cables and rewired one to changeover... still no connection.

The license file is in the root of the UCCNC directory.
but when the software is opened it only ever goes into demo mode.

I've tried powering with dedicated 5V and 24V bench power supplies.

Any ideas? thanks, J.
jaydee
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:08 am

Re: AXBB-E New Installation

Postby cncdrive » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:24 am

Did you setup the network card IP address as described in details in the AXBB-E manual?
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: AXBB-E New Installation

Postby jaydee » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:46 am

Yes,I believe it is correct.

hmm.. OK ran through it all again, and I have now made a connection to the AXBB-E via UCxxx utility.
However once I've confirmed the IP is 10.10.10.11 I'm having trouble setting this as a static IP in windows.
It seem to be a windows issue so I'll smack it around a bit and try to get the windows side working correctly first.
J.
jaydee
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:08 am

Re: AXBB-E New Installation

Postby cncdrive » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:58 pm

To what are you setting the IP in Windows? 10.10.10.11? That will be not good, because the IP of the AXBB-E is 10.10.10.11 by default, so then it is an IP conflict.
Check the manual again please.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: AXBB-E New Installation

Postby jaydee » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:05 pm

hmm... windows is forcing autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. flipping windows!!!
Think I've found the issue; basically, it does not matter what you set in the windows settings for the static IP, as soon as it connects to a network, windows appears to force it to DCHP.
For time being, I'm connecting via a router and DCHP until I can find a nice solution, as I would prefer a static IP connection in the workshop.
J.
jaydee
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:08 am

Re: AXBB-E New Installation

Postby ger21 » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:31 pm

Your not following the instructions correctly.

network.JPG
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: AXBB-E New Installation

Postby cncdrive » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:56 pm

Again, based on what you wrote you made a mistake in the configuration.
The IP of the network card in the computer has to be 10.10.10.10 and not 10.10.10.11. (Assuming that you left the AXBB-E IP on the default 10.10.10.11.)
If you set both the network card IP to 10.10.10.11 and the AXBB-E IP is also 10.10.10.11 then that is an IP conflict, because 2 devices cannot have the same IP on a network!
In this case Windows is basically not allowing you to set that IP when the AXBB-E is connected, because it sees that there is an IP conflict.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: AXBB-E New Installation

Postby jaydee » Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:10 pm

Thank you cncdrive, that makes sense.
I got focused on an issue, even when I re-read the doc now, I initially struggled to see my fault. :oops: but understand better now.

I really do appreciate people taking the time to help. 'Your not following the instructions correctly' I understand the sentiment, however when diagnosing an issue we all some times 'cant see the wood for the trees'
but concise description from cncdrive helped lift the fog.
Thanks. J.
jaydee
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:08 am


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests