Limit switches

If you have a question about the software please ask it here.

Limit switches

Postby jmm2020 » Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:16 am

I have 2 motors on my Y axis and 2 limit switches and curious how to set them up like I had in M3 with 2 inputs. I can tie them together or I could slave the Axis to run on Y and A and then set them accordingly but not sure what the best practice is for this with UCCNC
jmm2020
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:14 am

Re: Limit switches

Postby ger21 » Sat Oct 24, 2020 10:39 am

The only reason for using two switches to home each side independently. If the axis are slaved, and the switches are on separate inputs, UCCNC does this automatically.

There's no reason to use two switches if you are going to tie them together.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1871
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Limit switches

Postby jmm2020 » Sun Oct 25, 2020 1:56 am

Thanks Gerry...I thought such was the case but there was another Current pin setting there I couldn't find any documentation on. I slaved my Axis and configured everything from there.
jmm2020
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:14 am

Re: Limit switches

Postby RRocadas » Tue Nov 03, 2020 2:09 pm

Hello
I'm taken advantage of this topic to avoid to create a new one since this is about limit switches.

I have a AXBB board with UCCNC Version 1.2111 and i have two questions / doubts to how to best configure my limit switches.

I have ordered your M12 proximity sensor with 10meter cable and put one on Y and another on X but when i home the axis, for example y axis the axis moves until the sensor turn on and doesn´t stop immediately.
When axis come over the sensor it still moves for about 2 or 3 mm, then it stops and return until sensor turns off.

This behavior force me to adjust the speed of homing until it stops over the sensor and and return.

My question is: Is there a way to configure the UCCNC to exact stop when the sensor turns on?

Another question is: My motors have encoder they are Nema 34 Closed Loop and i saw in the UCCNC Software Manual that we have a chance configure pins for encoder is that possible or what is it for?
This last question is because i did´nt ye configure limits and by accident i lost some steps one or two time in one axis and then the motor driver turn on the alarm and force me to shutdown and turn on again.

Thank you in advance, regards,
Ricardo
RRocadas
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 8:23 am

Re: Limit switches

Postby RRocadas » Sat Nov 07, 2020 10:11 am

Any help here?
RRocadas
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 8:23 am

Re: Limit switches

Postby ger21 » Sat Nov 07, 2020 12:29 pm

Do you have very low acceleration settings? The motors have to decelerate to a stop, so if your acceleration is low, and homing speed is high, then it could cause what you are seeing.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1871
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Limit switches

Postby RRocadas » Sat Nov 07, 2020 12:40 pm

Thank you Ger

My actual max speed is 20000 mm/m - 20000 units/m in UCCNC
My aceleration settings i'm afraid are too low 300.

My home speed is now 2000 mm/m to avoid crash against the hard limit / phisical stop.

This is because with this settings they have a smooth start so i will adjust and balance this.

Thank you
RRocadas
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 8:23 am


Return to Ask a question from support here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests