Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

If you have a question about the software please ask it here.

Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby Gary Campbell » Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:02 pm

I have a new installation of v1_2037 on a Win7Pro-32 SP1 system. System is an Intel D2550MUD with 4gb ram. I have noted a few other "glitches" in the forum related to this MOBO.

Issue is that when the configuration tab is clicked UCCNC becomes non responsive (according to windows). All other tabs appear to function as expected.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance, Gary
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
gcnc411(at)gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
Gary Campbell
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:25 pm

Re: Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby cncdrive » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:22 pm

Sounds strange, I mean there is nothing special on the Configuration page, except that probably it contains the most DROs and sub-tab pages.
Does the "unresponsiveness" remains or is it temporary?

I personally used Win 7. 32bits for several years, even my development PC was a Win 7. 32bits computer, so this OS was tested the most.
Now I have Win 7 64bit on my development PC, so we still testing Win 7. the most, just the 64bits now.
Also our production machines all running Win 7. some of them are 32 and some others are with 64bits versions.
So, I just like to say that this OS is very well tested and that we did not see this issue on any of them.

Question: What graphics card does the computer has? You know the UCCNC is only picky to the video card properties, it needs at least 512MB VRAM on the video card, if the card has less can cause problems when the software will try to draw with OpenGL. I suspect that the video card might be the issue, because as said the Configuration tab pages has the most things to draw (the most number of images and DROs etc.) and maybe the card runs out of memory and so then OpenGL will try to push the task on the CPU which if fails to do the task fast enough could make the application to go unresponsive.
OpenGL handling these things internally without programmer's codes, so it is hard to debug if this will be the issue. The easiest way to figure it out is to place another video card to see if the issue is with that.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby Gary Campbell » Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:53 pm

MOBO has intel onboard graphics, I can get the specs and ram if needed, but I think that I will swap over to another mobo with better video.

Process: Click on any tab but the "config" tab, all open as expected. Click on "Configuration" tab and nothing happens. Click anywhere and the title bar has the Windows (unresponsive) and the screen "fogs" over. A windows dialog opens to wait for response or close. Either selection results in total hang requiring a "kill" with the task mgr.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
gcnc411(at)gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
Gary Campbell
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:25 pm

Re: Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby Robertspark » Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:00 am

The spec's of that motherboard are that it is compliant with OpenGL3.0 and DirectX9
PDF Page 11: http://www.mouser.com/pdfdocs/Intel_Ato ... asheet.pdf

The thing is you are running it with X7 32bit os, and I wonder if there is benefits in running it with a 64bit os as far as memory usage as you are on the limit of 32bit os memory (4gb).
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... bf5?auth=1


The processor does operate with 65bit architecture, so not sure why you would install a 32 bit OS? (unless it was for Mach3.... and parallel port use... but I don't think that motherboard would have an LPT port so you would still have to use a motion controller with Mach3)

I was also wondering if there are any settings in the bios (try F2, or delete at bootup) which allow for memory apportionment to the onboard graphics.
Last edited by Robertspark on Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rob

Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2046, Neuron Lite.
UCCNC Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby Robertspark » Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:04 am

You could also try updating the bios of the motherboard and see if it helps + the graphics driver....? for what it's worth

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/produc ... -D2550MUD2

Note this list listed as the D2550MUD2..... I cannot find a D2550MUD (no "2" on the end)
Rob

Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2046, Neuron Lite.
UCCNC Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby Gary Campbell » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:21 pm

Rob...
Thanks for the info. Sorry, I left the "2" off the mobo model #. It has the latest bios and drivers. These mini computers were purchased in multiples back in '10-'13 when I was using them for control on machines with ShopBot or WinCNC control. I have one of the Intel D2550MUD2 and two of the ASUS AT5IONT-I mobos left and was hoping to be able to use them and UCCNC on a few future small machines that I build, or rebuild as a hobby. They are 32 bit because that was the best option back then AND I have an OEM 10 pack of Win7-32 pro numbers to load on them. I figured it was time to get them out the door before Alzheimer's sets in.

I will keep plugging on these in my newbie haze of unfamiliarity. I loaded up one of the ASUS boards last nite and that one shows promise, but looses connection with the UC400ETH as soon as the software starts. It only has a 1gb stick of ram in it, so I have more on order. I am working under the 3 strikes rule and taking the weekend off. A win10 computer that wont connect, one on win7 that crashes when trying to set parameters and another win7 setup that loses connection once the software starts.

The lack of plug and play to older less capable computers make me rethink my process. May just use a known working
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
gcnc411(at)gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
Gary Campbell
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:25 pm

Re: Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby ger21 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:29 pm

but looses connection with the UC400ETH as soon as the software starts


Gary, can you clarify this? Sounds like it's never making a connection? If you run the UCxx utility in \UCCNC\Util\, does it find the UC400ETH?
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby cncdrive » Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:47 pm

As Gerry said, you should run the Utility tool and check if the network parameters are set properly.
And ofcourse the first thing to do is to setup the network which is basicly to set the IP address and subnet mask of the network adapter in your computer to match the IP address of the UC400ETH.
The Utility tool communicates with broadcast messages, so it will find the UC400ETH anywhere on the LAN even if it is totally missconfigured to the network adapter,
and the utility tool will tell you if the IP settings are correct or not.
Here is a video which covers the setup procedure really well. The video was about the UC300ETH, but the UC400ETH works exactly the same, so the video is the same useful for the UC400ETH too: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eaq7DScSz9o

Talking about mini computers, even this 75mmx75mm (3x3inches) size pico-ITX computer can run the UCCNC without problems: http://shop.cncdrive.com/index.php?productID=820
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby cncdrive » Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:01 pm

The video memory you can check with right clicking on an empty space on the desktop and select screen resolution and on the popup window select the advanced settings. Shown on the picture I've attached.

For Intel Integrated graphics you can probably increase the VRAM size in BIOS if it uses shared video memory.
Attachments
videoproperties.png
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Configuration Tab crashes UCCNC

Postby Gary Campbell » Sun Aug 13, 2017 1:29 am

To all....thanks for your time and patience for a newbie. All is working well, and even tho I do not have a definitive answer on what solved the issue with the AT5IONT-I computer. I believe that 6 hours worth of windows upgrades were the cure as many of them were for the .NET system.

Once all the Windows updates were installed and rebooted, I used the UCxxx utility to verify settings, as before all was well. This time however, UCCNC performed flawlessly, didn't crash and the config tab opened without problem.

I do have 512mb of ram available but did notice that while the program was running, I am using close to 700mb. The ram I have on order will be put to good use.

I am sure I will have endless questions in the future, but thanks again for the assistance on this round.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
gcnc411(at)gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
Gary Campbell
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:25 pm

Next

Return to Ask a question from support here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests