Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

If you have a question about the software please ask it here.

Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby Vikilaser » Mon Jan 23, 2023 1:01 pm

Hello,

I want to conect my Laser to my diy Machine.
Im using a Uc-300Eth thogether with a triple beast from sorotec on my diy milling machine. I have conected the triple beast Lpt-band to the Uc-300eth on port 2. I also planed to use the a analog port pin 5 for ground and pin 6 for pwm signal. My program is mach3.
My knowledge about electronics are very bad. The triple beast gives the pwm on pin 17 or pin 1 from 0-10V. The Uc-300eth works with 0/5V ttl and my laser goes with 5-12V pwm...
My Laser is a LT-4LDS-V2 from Lasertree (using with deliverd driver board and external powersuply 24V.
In mach3 for Spindle I have chosen the pin 17 on Port 2 witch is conected via the Lpt-printerband. I want to turn on and off my laser by gcodes M11 and M10. So therefore i chosed for output#1 the unused Port 3 and pin number 1 to Switch on and off. For Spindle Setup I changed the needed things.

So my questions are:
Do I need a converter for the different voltage?
How do the digital port 3 pin 1 and Lpt-port 2 pin17 comunicate with the analog port? Do I need aditional conections/Inputs?
How can i generate the pwm?
Have anybody pictures from his connection? That would help me. I also tried with active low options and cant get him to work. When I add the powersuply the laser dont react to the Spindle Button and any gcode. The software shows that Spindle is on when using gcode but my laser dont works.
Im thankful for every help.

Greetings from Germany
Viktor
Vikilaser
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:03 am

Re: Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby dezsoe » Mon Jan 23, 2023 7:18 pm

Do not connect any analog pins of the Triple Beast (TB) and the UC300. The TB converts the PWM to analog, but that is too slow for your laser.
- Can you upload or post a link to a usable pdf of the laser module? I couldn't find one.
- Do you want to use the laser instead of the spindle? Or do you want to use both?
dezsoe
 
Posts: 1820
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby Vikilaser » Mon Jan 23, 2023 10:01 pm

I want to use the laser instead of the Spindle.
Here is a link to the pdf (users manual) of my laser.

https://manuals.plus/laser-tree/lt-4lds ... z7rFyFoSvL

Thank you for help!

Greetings
Viktor
Vikilaser
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:03 am

Re: Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby Vikilaser » Tue Jan 24, 2023 10:50 am

I hope the link for the laser can help to find, where my problem is.

Greetings
Viktor
Vikilaser
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:03 am

Re: Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby formantjim » Thu Jan 26, 2023 2:27 pm

Hi Viktor I too have a similar setup with a Laser and UCCNC and the ETH 300. I use mine with an Endurance Laser. It too is similar to the TB runs off 12Volt supply and has TTL input for driving it.

I select the Spindle to have PWM on Pin 17 Port 1 with the Max frequency set to 5000 Hz then use the M10 and M11 commands to start and stop the laser but and this is the thing you might be missing one has to use the Q command in MDI to drive it Q0 being off and Q255 being max power.

To test to see if you laser is working on the TTL input according to the manual the Yellow wire simply connect 5 volts to it and the laser should fire. Then connect the 0 Volt line and PWM output from the ETH 300 and write in MDI Q255 and M10 and it should work. UCCNC has a Laser Plugin which is amazing and it can take a bmp picture and vary the power to the laser creating fantastic renditions of phots and such. The latest version of UCCNC now has a Lightburn Plugin and that too works brilliantly.
formantjim
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 5:28 pm

Re: Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby Vikilaser » Thu Jan 26, 2023 3:35 pm

Hi formantjim,

Im very thankfull for your message!

So your TTL signal and Ground are conected to analog port of the Uc-300eth to pin5 and pin 6?

Is your Triple beast conected to Port 1 via an LPT-wire? Wich port and what pin are you using to control on and off for example in the UCCNC-Software?

If you have a picture from your wiring that would help me, for my knowledge in electronics are bad.
I will try it out. If it works I will message you!

Thank you very very much for spending your time to help me!
Vikilaser
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:03 am

Re: Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby Vikilaser » Thu Jan 26, 2023 4:04 pm

Here is a picture of my wiring.
Triple beast to Uc-300eth. And Signal and Ground from the analog Port of the Uc-300eth pin 5, 6 to the delivered driver board. And from the little driver board to the laser...
Normaly pictures are to Big to attach, but via Screenshot it works.

Greetings Viktor
Attachments
20230126_165418.jpg
Vikilaser
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:03 am

Re: Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby Vikilaser » Thu Jan 26, 2023 5:54 pm

Hi formatjim,
I tried but it still dont works. Im sure Im making something wrong. Maybe in my settings in mach3.
I used 5000hz for max. PWM.
Wich minimum Pwm are you using?
I have set it to 10% like in the description for the Triple beast.
My Power Supply is an external 24V.
Have I to activate the analog output before anyway?

Greetings Viktor
Here are a few pics of my settings in mach3.
Attachments
Screenshot_20230126-185308_Gallery.jpg
Vikilaser
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:03 am

Re: Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby Vikilaser » Thu Jan 26, 2023 5:56 pm

Kernel Speer is 45000hz
Attachments
Screenshot_20230126-185327_Gallery.jpg
Vikilaser
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:03 am

Re: Uc-300eth with triple beast using Lasertree LT-4LDS-V2

Postby Vikilaser » Thu Jan 26, 2023 6:02 pm

using for output#1 Port 3 pin 1
Now I tried Spindle setting port 2 pin 17.
Attachments
Screenshot_20230126-185315_Gallery.jpg
Vikilaser
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:03 am

Next

Return to Ask a question from support here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests