Probe direction incorrect

If you have a question about the software please ask it here.

Probe direction incorrect

Postby walt_cnc » Sat Jul 02, 2022 7:30 pm

So I setup a simple probe which works great IF I have the Z direction reversed.
I can live with that BUT it will not work with "SAFE Z" or "Park" since they expect Z in the normal direction.
So I set the Z to normal and modified the M31 macro and changed all the "Z" commands to "-Z"...
Well, it made NO difference and I did check the "pre-compile macros".
Is there something else I need to do to get it to recognize the changes?
OR
Can I change the "Safe Z" & "Park" macros and which macros are those (I would rather not take this approach)

Suggestions?
Thanks!
Walt
walt_cnc
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:20 pm

Re: Probe direction incorrect

Postby walt_cnc » Sat Jul 02, 2022 8:39 pm

well... I found out why my changes were not being used...
The probe screen is associated with a plugin, not the m31 macro...
Since I just need a simple probe, I will see about defining a button to call the macro...
Sort of sucks since the probe plugin goes in the wrong direction...
walt_cnc
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:20 pm

Re: Probe direction incorrect

Postby Delco » Sun Jul 03, 2022 7:49 am

DO you have a -number in the Z probe distance - remember a Z move is always a negative move
Delco
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 4:23 am

Re: Probe direction incorrect

Postby ger21 » Sun Jul 03, 2022 7:58 pm

So I setup a simple probe which works great IF I have the Z direction reversed.

Are you saying you have Z+ going down? If so, I don't think UCCNC was ever intended to work like that.
Gerry
UCCNC 2022 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2022.html
ger21
 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Probe direction incorrect

Postby walt_cnc » Sun Jul 03, 2022 10:00 pm

the Z setup works fine; safe Z & park BUT the probe screen plugin does not work; it probes in the wrong direction...
Like I said, the probe plugin will work BUT only if I reverse the Z...
In any case, my adjusted macro works now except I don't know how to fill in the field for the z position so I have to enter the value manually.
After figure out how to do it from the macro, it should work fine...
walt_cnc
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:20 pm

Re: Probe direction incorrect

Postby ger21 » Sun Jul 03, 2022 10:50 pm

You didn't really answer my question.
I would think you have some settings set wrong. You shouldn't have to be the only one with this issue.
Gerry
UCCNC 2022 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2022.html
ger21
 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Probe direction incorrect

Postby dezsoe » Mon Jul 04, 2022 9:40 am

Simple probe probes in the direction that you enter in P1. Normally, you should enter a negative value for Z probing, because negative Z sould go down.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Probe direction incorrect

Postby walt_cnc » Mon Jul 04, 2022 11:09 am

ok, let me clarify;

When I use the probe screen, the plugin probes in the wrong direction...
When I use the probe button (on the main screen) it uses the M31 macro (only if the probe plugin is not active) and currently this probes in the wrong direction...
I used the current macro and have modified the z direction and it now works for me... I cannot modify the probe plugin so I cannot use the probe screen...

As for how I have configured my settings; everything else works fine, so there is no issue with my settings...
walt_cnc
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:20 pm

Re: Probe direction incorrect

Postby Delco » Mon Jul 04, 2022 12:33 pm

walt_cnc wrote:ok, let me clarify;

When I use the probe screen, the plugin probes in the wrong direction...
When I use the probe button (on the main screen) it uses the M31 macro (only if the probe plugin is not active) and currently this probes in the wrong direction...
I used the current macro and have modified the z direction and it now works for me... I cannot modify the probe plugin so I cannot use the probe screen...

As for how I have configured my settings; everything else works fine, so there is no issue with my settings...


You have a issue IF you had to modify the M31 and the probe functions arent working. Post up a screen of what settings you are using to do the Z probe .

it should look like the image below
Attachments
probe.png
Delco
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 4:23 am

Re: Probe direction incorrect

Postby dezsoe » Mon Jul 04, 2022 2:58 pm

walt_cnc wrote:ok, let me clarify;

When I use the probe screen, the plugin probes in the wrong direction...
When I use the probe button (on the main screen) it uses the M31 macro (only if the probe plugin is not active) and currently this probes in the wrong direction...
I used the current macro and have modified the z direction and it now works for me... I cannot modify the probe plugin so I cannot use the probe screen...

As for how I have configured my settings; everything else works fine, so there is no issue with my settings...

The probe screen and the M31 (probe button on the lower screen) are fully independent, so you don't have to disable the plugin to run the M31.

If you have bad parameters on the probe screen that's another story, but has nothing to do with the M31.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Next

Return to Ask a question from support here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tonyho810 and 1 guest