Upgrade W95 Taig mill

Forum for Discussing Mach3/4 related issues

Upgrade W95 Taig mill

Postby casemaker » Fri Sep 11, 2020 3:01 pm

I have a Taig mill with micro proto control running W95 that I want to upgrade to run on W10 x64.
Mach3 has been setup with all the "recommended' settings and the screen shows that the axes should be moving, but there is no connection to the steppers.
I am trying the UC100 that seems to be functioning correctly but nothing is moving, or apparently connected.
Any help would be appreciated.
casemaker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Upgrade W95 Taig mill

Postby ger21 » Fri Sep 11, 2020 4:07 pm

Did you install the UC100 plugin?
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1846
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Upgrade W95 Taig mill

Postby casemaker » Fri Sep 11, 2020 5:40 pm

UC100 plugin installed and selected
casemaker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Upgrade W95 Taig mill

Postby ger21 » Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:19 pm

Are the motors "locked"?
What do you have for the port and pin numbers for the motors?
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1846
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Upgrade W95 Taig mill

Postby casemaker » Sun Sep 13, 2020 4:55 pm

Motors are not locked by the controller.
Ports 2,3,4,5,6,7. Pins 1,1
I tried a mach3 xml from Taig but then the screen went blank. I believe their xml is for the latest controller. Mine is from 1998 #2000HD
casemaker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Upgrade W95 Taig mill

Postby casemaker » Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:47 pm

The motors seem to have some drag when Mach3 is on. Is it possible there is a power setting that needs adjustment?
When Mach3 is off, the motors turn easily by hand.
casemaker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:54 pm


Return to Mach3/4 Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron