Page 1 of 1

Probing screen

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 11:03 pm
by ejg3855
The documentation on the probing screen isn't really helpful.

Does anyone have a good guide? I just want to probe z heights when I do tool changes on my Bridgeport. I am having a time with the sequences that the probing screen requires and when ever I press p1 it tries to go to z=100 and well I have 5in of travel so that's a no go.

I also can get to the point where I click reference probe as workpiece and click start prove and well nothing happens.

I feel like I am making this way to hard, someone enlighten me.

https://youtu.be/87yDjAoW-Tc

Re: Probing screen

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:49 am
by dezsoe
You have no values set for the probing, see picture. You need a negative value for the P1 that will be the distance to probe: G31 Z<P1>. You also need a fine distance: that is the distance from the first touch to the start of the second probe (the tool will retract this value). Also, you need to set the fine and fast feed which are the speed for the probes. Also check the probe input: if you touch the tool with your plate the upper status LED has to show probe active.

Képkivágás.PNG

Re: Probing screen

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:56 pm
by ejg3855
I will give that a try, my probe does activate and I was using it as a simple Z height and manually entering the value.

I've been endlessly talking to my CNC guy at work so I am learning rapidly. The biggest difference is UCCNC vs Haas