AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

This Section is for users to discuss hardware

AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby dazza0685 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:34 pm

Hi

Firstly may I apologise, I am a newbie at CNC, I have recently acquired a used Spartan 1325 CNC which was very cheap as the electric box had suffered rodent damage and required a lot of re wiring,
At the same time I unwisely decided to change out the controller to get away from the awful software it came with, and the other controller seemed very tampered with.

I have wired 90% of the controller in, however I am having trouble wiring the VFD as it seems like it is completely different to how it was installed before,

The VFD I have is a Holip HLP-SH11005D543 - http://www.holip.com/upload/file/2018/0 ... 160328.pdf

I am at a loss as to where to start, looking at the manual unfortunately as I have no knowledge of this, the terms just do not mean anything to me and have no idea what cables to run from where to what port.

Also I am a little unclear on the 24v + DO I provide a + wire to the VFD? I understand the main power is wired through the 3 phase input but the AXBB-E diagram has me very confused.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Darryl
dazza0685
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:23 pm

Re: AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby Robertspark » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:02 pm

pdf page 42 of your vfd manual shows the wiring diagram

and pdf page 28 of the axbb-e gives you the wiring diagram

get both to hand!

so, wire up the vfd with 3 phase electric and to the motor (top LHS and RHS of the vfd schematic)

then the low voltage side

wire from the axbbe to the vfd as follows

1) "24V0" to "com"
2) "02" to "FOR"
3) "03" to "REV"
4) "AO1" to "V1"

and the wiring part should be done....





edit!!!!
you need to wire from "5V0" to "GND" (near V1) too as sometimes they use isolated analog ground connections

sometimes you may not need the reverse connection.... I mean do you need the spindle to run in rev or not?.... if not you could use the op for something else
Last edited by Robertspark on Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2110, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2110 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1496
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby Robertspark » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:11 pm

plus change jumper for 0-10v operation
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2110, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2110 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1496
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby dazza0685 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:05 pm

Hi.

Many thanks for the detailed response, when I am at the workshop tomorrow I will give that a try.

Thanks Again,

Darryl
dazza0685
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:23 pm

Re: AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby dazza0685 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:25 pm

Hi.

I have wired it as suggested but unfortunately still no luck, The VFD powers on but I cannot get it to respond to any commands.

As in my first post, does the control side require 24V + ?

Thanks

Darryl
dazza0685
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:23 pm

Re: AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby Robertspark » Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:15 pm

does what require 24v?

the axbb-e requires 2 power supplies, 5v and a 24v power supply input

the vfd produces its own internal 24v
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2110, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2110 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1496
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby Robertspark » Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:33 pm

have you gone through all the parameters to check they are set correctly

like C05.10 and C05.11
C03.15

generally I suggest going through all the parameters to check they are right for your setup and you can calibrate your input voltage range C06.20 onwards

I am trying to see if that vfd has a setting to switch from keypad control to digital and analog inputs but I cannot see it.

probably worth while you getting the voltmeter out and checking your inputs to the vdf register the voltages for the run and speed signal too
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2110, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2110 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1496
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby dazza0685 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:57 pm

Hi.

Thanks for the response,

I meant the VFD, The AXBB-E is up and running fine.

As for checking the parameters, Im afraid you have lost me there, where do I find these parameters?

Sorry for the questions, this is really not my field, I am a bit out of my depth unfortunately

Darryl
dazza0685
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:23 pm

Re: AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby dazza0685 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 8:18 pm

Hi.

Sorry, I have just read further through the manual to find the settings you have referred to, I will go through them tomorrow.

Thanks Again.

Darryl
dazza0685
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:23 pm

Re: AXBB-E - VFD Wiring Help

Postby Robertspark » Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:40 pm

If you have a volt meter I would suggest checking the outputs of the AXBB-E, that way you can verify that the signals are being sent from the AXBB-E to the VFD, and your problem is therefore your VFD.

Have you setup the spindle within UCCNC for the AXBB-E + VFD? (defined the ports and pins etc) If you toggle the spindle CW / CCW or M3 or M4, do the right pins change state on the diagnostics screen / tab?

Has the VFD been setup for the spindle (does the spindle run with the VFD without input, via the buttons on the controller on the front of it?)

Has the VFD been setup with the correct spindle settings etc?
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2110, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2110 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1496
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests