Spindle Frequency?

This Section is for users to discuss hardware

Spindle Frequency?

Postby lukebarber » Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:43 pm

I bought and installed a new 1.5hp water-cooled spindle with an inverter to run it. Inverter is https://www.valinonline.com/products/esv112n02yxb . Now whenever I switch the spindle on, it triggers my limit switches (in Mach3) and I can only reset it when the spindle is not running. Would adding a line reactor to the inverter help? Spindle and limit switch wiring is all shielded and properly grounded.

I'm virtually at a standstill. Any help?
lukebarber
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:28 pm

Re: Spindle Frequency?

Postby cncdrive » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:45 pm

Your VFD is probably a cheap chinese one with zero line filter (noise filter) on the input lines is the problem.
What happens is that the motor noise gets back to your mains lines triggering the limit inputs in your system.

You should try to install a proper line filter into the VFD mains inputs.
Also make sure to form a short as possible wires star shape grounding for the components in your system (VFD, power supply for your controller, computer etc.)
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2530
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Spindle Frequency?

Postby cncdrive » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:46 pm

I see now that you have a Lenze VFD which is German not chinese, LOL. The link did not open for me previously, only now. :)
Anyways, the issue is noise for sure, so what I wrote previously is still true.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2530
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Spindle Frequency?

Postby Robertspark » Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:57 pm

What type of limit switches do you have?

Proximity?

Check your earth (ground) arrangement / wiring
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2108, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2108 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Spindle Frequency?

Postby lukebarber » Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:44 pm

Thank you for the suggestions.

These VFDs are manufactured in the US. I'm sure some components are coming from China. I thought of re-configuring the limit switches as normally closed.
lukebarber
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:28 pm

Re: Spindle Frequency?

Postby ger21 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:33 am

24V limit switches are much more immune to noise than a 5V system, if that's what you are using.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Spindle Frequency?

Postby spumco » Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:18 am

Based on suggestions here and on other forums, here's what I've done on my mill to eliminate noise-related bugs. So far I've not had any problems.

RFI filter on mains input
Line reactors on input/output to VFD
Ferrite rings on VFD output cables
VFD cables run through metallic conduit to motor
VFD cables twisted in conduit (ground not twisted with power conductors)
VFD cables/conduit not near anything else except in the energy chain to mill head - and the conduit is separated by 3" or so when it's parallel to the other cables.

Signals, including limit switches, are 24vdc.
Limit switches & spindle index proxy run as NC
Motor encoder has complimentary signals in a double-shielded cable well away from VFD conduit. Enters the enclosure at a different point than the VFD cables.

Star ground for all components. Paint scraped at all ground points on backplane, motor, machine cabinet, etc.

I'm sure there are other techniques for managing noise, but that above didn't really cost much.
spumco
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:10 pm


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests