Neuron Lite vs Simplicity

This is the place to talk about and share things related to CNC plasma machines using UCCNC

Neuron Lite vs Simplicity

Postby bob » Mon Dec 23, 2019 9:45 pm

Hello all. First post after lots of reading here.

I'm in the process of fabricating a 5x10 plasma table, and am trying to narrow down my choice of THC, and it seems like some flavor of Neuron is the way I'll go.

The machine:
5x10, rack & pinion XY, 10mm pitch ballscrew on Z
Everlast 50s plasma cutter with floating head torch mount
UCCNC and AXBB-E motion controller have been ordered (I'm brand new to UCCNC but have experience on several other CNC controls)
Closed loop Nema 34 steppers
I'll mostly be cutting thin steel (16ga.-1/8")
I'll be using SheetCAM

I've thoroughly read through all the Neuron documentation as well as every post I could find about them on multiple forums. My understanding of differences between the two is that Simplicity is fully standalone (only getting basic signals to start, pause, end, etc. from UCCNC) and has a lower 50kHz step frequency, while Lite has a UCCNC plug-in. So it looks like all of the parameters that can be set via buttons on the Simplicity can be controlled on-screen in UCCNC with the Lite? The Lite documentation has a lot of info on the Mach3 interface, but not UCCNC. Are there similar Cut Profile and Control Panel screens?

Is the Lost Arc Recovery feature also a feature of Simplicity, or just Lite?

The big question: for those of you using either Neuron, which did you choose and why? Do you find the button interface on the Simplicty adequate or is it tedious? Do you feel the Lite integration with UCCNC was worth the additional $300?

Thanks for any insight anyone can provide.
-Bob
bob

Re: Neuron Lite vs Simplicity

Postby Robertspark » Tue Dec 24, 2019 7:04 am

I would suggest you contact Andrew direct to discuss the neuron.

Ask Andrew for access to the Dropbox folder so you can install the neuron plugin.