plasma not cutting good

This is the place to talk about and share things related to CNC plasma machines using UCCNC

plasma not cutting good

Postby mvandijk » Sun Sep 02, 2018 2:11 pm

I have some issues that the plasma cutter not getting every line to cut see the picture with the M
The picture with the 3 cirkels are good that i have cut before i try to cut the M out
i have change nothing else

I'm using a proma thc sd controller and my sheetcam setting for the z axis i use are
pierce height 1.5 mm
plunge rate 1000 mm/min
cut heigt 1 mm

i think its is the z axis is to high but if lower the setting in sheetcam nothing wil change

how can i change it to get lower
Attachments
20180902_144713.jpg
20180902_144633.jpg
mvandijk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: plasma not cutting good

Postby Robertspark » Sun Sep 02, 2018 3:55 pm

Change the voltage setting in the proma SD and the cut height will change,

Higher voltage setting, more gap between material and torch
Lower voltage setting , less gap between material and torch

The z height in sheetcam is just the initial setting for the cut height, once the proma detects voltage it will start adjusting the z axis without any involvement from sheetcam or uccnc.

Can you provide a section of gcode please
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: plasma not cutting good

Postby Robertspark » Sun Sep 02, 2018 3:59 pm

There is also no feedback from the proma SD (no ARC OK signal), so I suspect that the torch is misfiring, but the gcode is just running on.
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: plasma not cutting good

Postby mvandijk » Sun Sep 02, 2018 4:44 pm

The gcode is not the problem it is the misfiring from the torch to the material the gap between is on some please to big

I try tomorrow to lower the voltage off the proma sd i let you know if it help.
mvandijk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: plasma not cutting good

Postby cncdrive » Sun Sep 02, 2018 5:09 pm

Probably the setpoint on the Proma is not correct for that cutting and so it pushes the torch up to too high and so the arc getting lost.
And as Rob said because the Proma SD is ment to be a standalone THC controller it does not give an ARCOK signal to the CNC control software so the movement continues eventhough the arc was lost.
The Proma THC 150 is a better choice for the UCCNC, because it outputs ARCOK signal and it also lets the UCCNC to control the Z-axis for the THC.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: plasma not cutting good

Postby mvandijk » Mon Sep 03, 2018 7:11 pm

I lower the voltage of the proma sd its now cutting better.
mvandijk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:23 pm


Return to CNC Plasma

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests