ProbeIt for UCCNC

This is where you talk about Plugins. How they are made and how they work, show examples.

Re: ProbeIt for UCCNC

Postby juavil » Fri Jan 15, 2021 10:24 pm

Hello Eric,

I have tried to download you plugin, but your website is down (database error).

Please check it.

Thanks in advance,
Juan J.
juavil
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:17 pm

Re: ProbeIt for UCCNC

Postby eabrust » Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:59 pm

CL_MotoTech wrote:Well... Maybe I am a dingus and just didn't notice that it was setting Z0.

I hope you and your loved ones are well in these tough times!


Hey Chris, my family has been well and making it OK. Our kids go to a small rural school, and have even been able to keep going to in-school learning while many surrounding schools around us (in the city) are remote learning only. Times sure are strange. Hope all as well for you as well! BTW, I have my fair share of dingus moments :D

So the only real thing to know about the 'set z surface' button, is that buttons job is to change the Z axis reference point of the current active work offset, and it will chance it to be what ever value you have in the Z surface value input box. Ie, you can touch off the tip of the probe to set that surface to be z=0, or any value you choose it to be instead of 0. The 'probe to set new z' button on the other hand does not change the z axis work offset at all, it just puts a new value into the Z surface value box (ie, it takes a measurement only), so that the value can be used for the DXF z value.

I haven't looked at that chunk of the manual about those buttons/controls in a while, but I'm sure it could use some rewording improvements :)

regards
Eric
CraftyCNC: Plugins for UCCNC (and other neat stuff): http://www.craftycnc.com/plugins-for-uccnc/
eabrust
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am
Location: Near Shirland IL, USA

Re: ProbeIt for UCCNC

Postby eabrust » Sat Jan 16, 2021 5:09 pm

juavil wrote:Hello Eric,

I have tried to download you plugin, but your website is down (database error).

Please check it.

Thanks in advance,
Juan J.


Juan, Thank you for the heads up! Don't know what happened, but it is up again.
CraftyCNC: Plugins for UCCNC (and other neat stuff): http://www.craftycnc.com/plugins-for-uccnc/
eabrust
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am
Location: Near Shirland IL, USA

Re: ProbeIt for UCCNC

Postby infamous_panda » Thu Jan 21, 2021 3:52 pm

Hi,

I intend to purchase this and close out my machine setup. Just upgraded to V2 from 1.011 and now doing a tip calibration just crashes UCCNC immediately. Tried a few things like deleting the plugin folder, reinstalling, running as admin etc. Still crashes. I had the install file for v1.011 and replaced it and things are working again. Any tips on how to diagnose the issue?
infamous_panda
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:06 pm

Re: ProbeIt for UCCNC

Postby eabrust » Thu Jan 21, 2021 10:44 pm

infamous_panda wrote:Hi,

I intend to purchase this and close out my machine setup. Just upgraded to V2 from 1.011 and now doing a tip calibration just crashes UCCNC immediately. Tried a few things like deleting the plugin folder, reinstalling, running as admin etc. Still crashes. I had the install file for v1.011 and replaced it and things are working again. Any tips on how to diagnose the issue?


Hi infamous_p,

Well, that's not good... and embarrassing :oops: I don't recall touching anything about calibration function between V1.011 and V2.0, but stuff happens.... Did you attempt to run anything else beyond the calibration?

Would you mind emailing me your XML files for ProbeIt (in the probeit subfolder, 'Probeit.xml' and 'ProbeItViewer.xml') and /or screen shots of what you have for your input settings. I'll see if I can figure out how to recreate issue and fix. Please let me know any other info you can to describe it, or if by 'immediately', you mean it is crashed the instant you click the calibrate button, and you don't even get to a message box back about anything?

My email you can send info to is on the 'about' tab of the plugin.

regards
Eric
CraftyCNC: Plugins for UCCNC (and other neat stuff): http://www.craftycnc.com/plugins-for-uccnc/
eabrust
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am
Location: Near Shirland IL, USA

Re: ProbeIt for UCCNC

Postby eabrust » Fri Jan 22, 2021 1:29 am

ProbeIt for UCCNC has been updated to v. 2.002 and is available for download here:http://www.craftycnc.com/probeit-for-uccnc/

Updates in V2.002:
1/21/2021
-Bug Fix for calibration routine failing to run and crash ProbeIt.


Thanks infamous_panda for notifying me, I was able to find the error and recreate the program issue.

regards
Eric
CraftyCNC: Plugins for UCCNC (and other neat stuff): http://www.craftycnc.com/plugins-for-uccnc/
eabrust
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am
Location: Near Shirland IL, USA

Re: ProbeIt for UCCNC

Postby infamous_panda » Fri Jan 22, 2021 1:32 am

I was in a bit of bind to get up and running today so I may have overwritten the V2 file

V2 behaved a bit strangely for me. I only tried one other operation which was to find the center of a bore. This worked but it seemed like there were extra confirmation boxes and some more delay than I expected before any motion. It did work however. When I went to probe setup I inputted 0.125 for average probe diameter and 4.15 for the bore diameter. I would hit the calibrate button It would pause for a couple seconds with no dialog boxes, then all three program windows would close.

I'll give V2 another go on my home machine when I have some time next week.
infamous_panda
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:06 pm

Re: ProbeIt for UCCNC

Postby Delco » Sat Feb 20, 2021 11:05 pm

Eric have you done and experimentation with combining your two plugins to use a camera system for edge finding
Delco
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 4:23 am

Re: ProbeIt for UCCNC

Postby eabrust » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:32 am

Eric have you done and experimentation with combining your two plugins to use a camera system for edge finding


HI Delco,

I'm not currently trying to work out 'edge finding' w/ UCCamCopy. Getting all camera settings/focus/edge lighting, etc is a challenge enough to make a camera stick to following the edge for edge tracing (when edge is already found). I think approaching it backwards, from the aspect of having no idea where an edge is and hoping to find it and stop would be very challenging. Maybe someday in the future I can take a shot at it.


I'm currently focused on new features/updates/bug fixes for ProbeIt UC plugin, and hope to be able to put out the next revision soon.

Currently I'm doing testing and bug fixing on some initial routines that are for Rotary Axis (point cloud surface scan, and some rotary setup/angle measuring routines).

sample of 4th axis point cloud: https://youtu.be/ZtK8iq7j_go


And just because everyone including me can use a laugh now and then... I can confirm I let my cnc machines stab sharpie markers (and other items) with my touch probes, so hopefully it won't happen to any of you... I can confirm the sharpie did not survive the attack, but the touch probe lives on to fight another day :D Luckily the ink stayed contained!

Probe 4th axis stabby.jpg



regards
Eric
CraftyCNC: Plugins for UCCNC (and other neat stuff): http://www.craftycnc.com/plugins-for-uccnc/
eabrust
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am
Location: Near Shirland IL, USA

Previous

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest