XBox 360 plugin update

This is where you talk about Plugins. How they are made and how they work, show examples.

Re: XBox 360 plugin update

Postby eabrust » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:49 pm

I Wonder if something has held onto your xbox controller since you installed the plugin. Have you done any reboot/restart since you installed it all? Any other app you use that may have it in use?

Does your xbox control show up under device manager?
xbox device mgr.JPG



Not quite sure what to suggest otherwise, I've used both actual MS Xbox controllers, and also some real cheapo knockoffs off Amazon, and none I've tried have not worked.


regards,
Eric
eabrust
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am

Re: XBox 360 plugin update

Postby eabrust » Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:15 pm

And one last question that hit me, which of the four quadrant LEDs on the controller is lit? Just wondering if your controller is stuck as controller 2 or 3, etc, and the plugin is pretty much fixed to find controller 1 currently.

regards,
eabrust
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am

Re: XBox 360 plugin update

Postby andrewsmith » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:26 am

eabrust wrote:And one last question that hit me, which of the four quadrant LEDs on the controller is lit? Just wondering if your controller is stuck as controller 2 or 3, etc, and the plugin is pretty much fixed to find controller 1 currently.

regards,


top left #1

And yes it shows in device manager. I've restarted a couple of times.

Andrew
andrewsmith
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:48 am

Re: XBox 360 plugin update

Postby eabrust » Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:29 am

Andrew,

I noted from your screen shot that there are no numbers next to the axis indicators in the left side of the plugin. That means the update loop of the plugin is not working even long enough to populate these with '0.000'. Even without the controller plugged in, this should update to show '0.000'.

ASmithXB.JPG
ASmithXB.JPG (20.77 KiB) Viewed 166 times


How are you starting the plugin? Do you have it load when UCCNC loads, or are you going into the plugins config form and then doing 'show plugin' after UCCNC is started? I always have the plugin load fully at UCCNC start, and have the xbox control pluged in at same time. As a test, I killed the plugin and did the 'show plugin' from config form, and got the same thing with the plugin being halted in the back ground (loop not running).

As a side note, I'm working on a test version of the plugin for you where I add a status indicator showing connection state and some other error checks, i'll post it for you to try in a while.

regards,
Eric
eabrust
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am

Re: XBox 360 plugin update

Postby andrewsmith » Sun Jan 12, 2020 2:25 am

Eric

Tried loading at startup of UCCNC. we have numbers that change when I move the sticks and push buttons. Can't say if my machine will move too as I am away from it, just doing the demo part.

Andrew
andrewsmith
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:48 am

Re: XBox 360 plugin update

Postby eabrust » Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:19 am

Hi Andrew,

You should be all set then, if you see the plugin change state on stick values when moving sticks, and buttons presses going from false to true, it is fully working. Have fun with it.

I believe that confirms the only way this plugin will work correctly is when loading at the same time UCCNC loads, and it cannot be loaded from the 'config plugin' after UCCNC starts.


regards
Eric
eabrust
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am

Re: XBox 360 plugin update

Postby eabrust » Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:14 am

Hi All,

I put out a small update to the XBox plugin (v 2.0010) here: http://www.craftycnc.com/download/511/

Changes made:
V2.0010:
1/12/2020
Added Status bar showing controller connection status, and status of plugin loop running, mainly for assisting with troubleshooting.
Added ability to customize the DPad and shoulder buttons. If you customize and you want to set each button to jog an axis, you NEED to set both the axis-on button with the down-press, and you need to set the axis-stop button with the release, or you will get a run away jog. In addition, custom axes set on Dpad or shoulders will do either continuous or step, depending on what mode of jogging is set in UCCNC (ie, not locked into JUST step only). Unchecking the 'customize' checkbox reverts everything to the way it always was (step only for x/y/z axes)

xbupdate.JPG


regards,
Eric
eabrust
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am

Re: XBox 360 plugin update

Postby eabrust » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:46 am

Another Bug fix update, (thanks Trendsetter for some suggestions and finding issues).

This update addresses the following:
Made max velocity limits separate for each axis of each stick (was one velocity limit per stick).
Made sure velocity limit input boxes are not limiting max value
Made max velocity limits optional, unchecking box reverts axis to be 0-100 % of axis velocity. checking box makes axis 0 to max velocity set.
Added error checking to ensure that an axis is never commanded at > 100% of its velocity
Made each stick independently able to do 'mixed' axis jogging (instead of both sticks bound to selection)
Some cleanup of step jog buttons to ensure that plugin always sets stepjog or continuousjog mode back to what it was prior to firing a step jog event.


Located at same link location as usual, this will download version 2.020: http://www.craftycnc.com/download/511/

regards,
Eric

xb2.0020 -2.JPG
xb2.0020 -1.JPG
eabrust
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:32 am

Previous

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests