Page 2 of 3

Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:26 pm
by Robertspark
Bump^^^

Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:59 pm
by Robertspark
Any update on this one from cncdrive?

Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 12:23 pm
by eabrust
Bumpity Bump :)

Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 12:52 pm
by cncdrive
No update.

Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 1:18 pm
by Robertspark
Haha short and sweet :lol: :lol:

Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:59 pm
by cncdrive
Sorry Rob, but I have no more information about this at the moment.

Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 5:53 am
by Robertspark
As it's (almost) Christmas, and wish lists and giving are are all the rage.....

I wrote a letter to Santa and asked for....

:lol: :lol:

:D

Smile.... I thought it was time for a bump just for the hell of it.... :lol:

What did you ask Santa for (other than all those vmax macros and wizards to reappear....)

Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:32 pm
by Robertspark
I know I'm going to sound like I'm ungrateful, but I'm not at all.... I really like the new probe options that are built in to the new screenset.

I am wondering if the G31 probe with more than one axis is on a list somewhere?

The reason why I have been asking for this (and it would go REALLY well with the new probe screenset) is the option to be able to trace a part

Eric (who was the OP of this thread) developed this probe screenset plugin for Mach3, if you skip to ~2:50 you'll understand why 2 axis probing is beneficial to be able to trace directly to DXF via probed points.




Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:17 pm
by Robertspark
Anyone ever heard of a G31 move with a G2/G3 arc of motion?

Instead of just a linear movement, I've heard it may be quicker to trace an object given the corners are always picked up

Re: G31 with more than one axis word

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 1:20 am
by eabrust
Hey Rob,

Interesting thought.

One thing to consider if you're trying to probe around a part and trace it with an iterative macro, is that to correctly record the location of the touch point on the edge of the part, you have to correctly offset the probe tip diameter to where the contact happened. To do that correctly, you need to know a few things, such as what direction the probe is traveling at the time of the touch, and have some confidence that you are probing roughly square to the edge of the surface. Even If you probe in only the x direction, you know the vector the tip is traveling in, but if the surface you hit is at an angle relative to that vector, the calculated hit point will be off a bit. This calculated error gets smaller and smaller as the probe tip shrinks, but nobody uses a needle-point probe. That's the reason I wish being able to probe in combined X-Y movement was available.

I think if you throw an arc movement in there, it would be darn near impossible to know what direction the probe tip was moving when contact was made (at least at a macro writing level). The controller may be able to determine the vector direction at the time of the touch and provide that info as an output along with the trip position (as it's generating the x and y velocities at the time of the touch), but it would still be difficult to determine if you're hitting the part squarely. I don't think there is much value in trying to probe with a G2/G3, just after thinking about it briefly. Maybe there's a benefit I'm not seeing?

regards,
Eric Brust