G43 XYZ

Here is where you can request new features or special features.

G43 XYZ

Postby hmnijp » Wed Nov 01, 2023 10:26 pm

I looked at the list of 1.2116 updates:
- - Tool offset X was added to support lathes.

I would also like to advise adding a Y offset (why wasn’t this done right away?)

Firstly, it is also useful for turning machines (with X-Y axes or driven tool in a lathe turret)
B038TToolingZone-1024x1019.jpg


Secondly, it is convenient for milling machines, example:
- multi-spindle configurations
Hbadac6f5ba30453ab216359869076b85l.jpg

2023-11-02 02-07-54.jpg

- angular heads (90 degrees milling, drilling or saws head)
2023-11-02 02-04-18.jpg

- measuring probes on mechanical arms
2023-11-02 01-55-02.jpg

2023-11-02 01-46-44.jpg


in all cases they are called as the tool number and offset G43 XYZ is used, this basicly functionality is available in many CNC systems....

Now this has to be done by writing macros that save the original wcs (for all g54-g59), change them for some tool, and then return them back, which generates errors if the code suddenly breaks and some of these steps are skipped. Although you could just use standard G43 with X-Y-Z offsets.
hmnijp
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 12:59 am

Re: G43 XYZ

Postby cncdrive » Wed Nov 01, 2023 10:57 pm

Hehe, this is what we were talking about with the collegues that if we add X offset then if anybody will notice it it will be because there is no Y offset.
We were right. :D
Well, maybe the next release will have it as we can't add all features in a single release because it would create too much possibility for errors and then it is harder to debug...
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: G43 XYZ

Postby Battwell » Thu Dec 07, 2023 11:49 am

use g52 for all temporary offsets. works well
Uc300eth on router and mill.
UK uccnc powered machine sales. https://cncrouter.uk/atc-cnc-routers.htm
Automateanything/duzzit cnc/mercury cnc
Battwell
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: G43 XYZ

Postby hmnijp » Mon Dec 11, 2023 7:33 pm

Battwell wrote:use g52 for all temporary offsets. works well

Yes.. you can use this, but g52 is the wcs offset.. using it for tool offset is a crutch.
It's better to have something designed for this, as with most CNCs.

And using G52 for tool offset - you lose the opportunity to use G52 for its intended purpose - patterns, multiple-setup, rough offsets, etc.

Also, to quickly correct the offset in your case, you need to correct the macro. g43 offset can be changed simply in the tool table.
hmnijp
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 12:59 am

Re: G43 XYZ

Postby Battwell » Thu Dec 14, 2023 10:11 am

most people use cam to generate code these days.
i know nobody except myself that uses hand written code now.
my machines have drill blocks, lasers etc all offset with g52. works fine every time.

https://youtu.be/jkreCyShaqM?si=sgxVlC1XV9attzjF
Uc300eth on router and mill.
UK uccnc powered machine sales. https://cncrouter.uk/atc-cnc-routers.htm
Automateanything/duzzit cnc/mercury cnc
Battwell
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk


Return to Feature Request

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests