Max tool speed

Here is where you can request new features or special features.

Max tool speed

Postby Battwell » Sat May 11, 2019 9:25 pm

After seeing a very bad crash accident this week due to over speed on spindle using a very large diameter tool
I think it may be a good idea to implement a max tool speed in the tool table. That can be used for specialty tools
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Max tool speed

Postby Battwell » Sat May 11, 2019 9:28 pm

The tool broke up - 1 part of it managed to travel through 2 walls via a steel enclosure, concrete walls etc
Luckily nobody was killed
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Max tool speed

Postby Derek » Sat May 11, 2019 11:41 pm

Yea that was pretty impressive for sure.
Derek
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:57 am

Re: Max tool speed

Postby Vmax549 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:32 pm

It gets complicated to do safely, BUT it IS doable.
Attachments
Max_RPM_UCCNC.JPG
Vmax549
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Max tool speed

Postby Battwell » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:22 pm

that image comes up too small to see terry.
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Max tool speed

Postby Robertspark » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:27 pm

this may look better, zoomed in and re-screenshot
Attachments
2019-06-05 16_26_41-file.php (5600×2546).png
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2110, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2110 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Max tool speed

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:29 pm

That was a very scary video. Pretty amazing nobody got hurt.

So I'm curious on the tool table, will these values override what is sent in your Gcode file? All my tools are setup in Fusion now and not sure how it works with two tool tables with the same information.
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: Max tool speed

Postby Vmax549 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 6:16 pm

There are at least a dozen different ways it COULD be done from simple to a complex control. THAT would be up to UCCNC to decide.

As to tool tables it depends on your method of work. IF you let teh CAM control all teh offsetting you would not even need teh UCCNC tool table. IF you let UCCNC do all teh offsetting (G43,G41,G42) then you do not even need a CAM side tool table. And many different ways of doing it in between.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Max tool speed

Postby Battwell » Tue Jun 25, 2019 11:16 am

simplest way would be have a max tool speed for that specific tool number.
eg. for a tool that must not spin over 500 rpm even though spindle max may be 24000 rpm
if the tool is commanded by code to spin at say 9000 rpm through bad cam setup the max tool rpm would still be limited by uccnc to 500 rpm.
(even if this was thrown as a pre run warning instead of limiting speed would be better than nothing. )
i know my biesse controllers have this. large diameter tools are dangerous! luckily most hobby users dont use this type of tool .
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Max tool speed

Postby ger21 » Tue Jun 25, 2019 11:37 am

if the tool is commanded by code to spin at say 9000 rpm through bad cam setup the max tool rpm would still be limited by uccnc to 500 rpm.

If you can program it wrong in CAM, you can just as easily enter the wrong max rpm, or no max at all (which should mean no limit?). :D

I think all the Italian machines have this feature. The Morbidelli and Masterwood I've used have this.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Next

Return to Feature Request

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests