rotary tool changer- carousel

This is where you talk about Macros, show examples of your macro scripting and SHARE handy segments of script code as examples.

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 9:09 pm

theres no reverse run on the drive- has to be done via a contactor to reverse :-(
Uc300eth on router and mill.
UK uccnc powered machine sales. https://cncrouter.uk/atc-cnc-routers.htm
Automateanything/duzzit cnc/mercury cnc
Battwell
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 9:12 pm

i think an ac servo is going to be easiest option. (built in psu etc)- just swap the motor if i can find something that will fit.
Uc300eth on router and mill.
UK uccnc powered machine sales. https://cncrouter.uk/atc-cnc-routers.htm
Automateanything/duzzit cnc/mercury cnc
Battwell
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Meri » Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:14 pm

Maybe this helps:

Code: Select all
// Carousel toolchanger code
// Original Code by Terry Parker, Adapted to the AXYZ CNC by Arturo Duncan
// Some code for the original linear tool change which is not used was left there intentionally and is commented

//  MessageBox.Show(" New Tool Change Macro Newtool=");
 
//Tool positions definition
int Chuckopenport = 1;
int Chuckopenpin = 16;

// Tool carusel driven by the B axis.
double[] ToolB = new double[11];
ToolB[0] = 0; // Tool0 B position

//Angle at which each tool is.

ToolB[1] = 36*(1-1); // Tool1 B position
ToolB[2] = 36*(2-1); // Tool2 B position
ToolB[3] = 36*(3-1); // Tool3 B position
ToolB[4] = 36*(4-1); // Tool4 B position
ToolB[5] = 36*(5-1); // Tool5 B position
ToolB[6] = 36*(6-1); // Tool6 B position
ToolB[7] = 36*(7-1); // Tool7 B position
ToolB[8] = 36*(8-1); // Tool8 B position
ToolB[9] = 36*(9-1); // Tool9 B position
ToolB[10] = 36*(10-1); // Tool10 B position

//Read and store the position of the machine before doing the tool change so we can send the spindle to where it was when the tool change was called.

double x = exec.GetXpos();            // GetOEMDRO(83)
double y = exec.GetYpos();            // GetOEMDRO(84)
double z = exec.GetZpos();            // GetOEMDRO(85)
double a = exec.GetApos();            // GetOEMDRO(86)
double b = exec.GetBpos();            // GetOEMDRO(87)
double c = exec.GetCpos();            // GetOEMDRO(88)

//  MessageBox.Show("Newtool=");
 
// These are the machine constants.  The positions in the machine coordinate system where phisical things are.
 
double SafeZ = -.5;
double Ztoolrelease = 88;
double Ztoolpickup = 86;
int MaxToolNum = 10;            //'Max number off tools for the changer
double ToolDown   = -5.339;        //'Z Pos to Get or drop a tool
double ToolUp     = -0;       //'Z Hieght to Rapid from tool to tool
double DustCollector = 0.154;
double ToolProbePos = -3.1336;
double YTootChangePos = -7.8;
double YTootPos = -11.6913;
double SpindleSpeed = Convert.ToDouble(AS3.Getfield(870));

int Newtool = exec.Getnewtool();
int Currenttool = exec.Getcurrenttool();


if(Currenttool == 0) // If new tool number is -1 means a missing T code, so we need to stop here...
{
MessageBox.Show("The Current TOOL # is out of range 1 - 10 , Correct the Value and Restart");
exec.Stop();
return;
}

if(Newtool == -1) // If new tool number is -1 means a missing T code, so we need to stop here...
return;

if(Newtool <1 || Newtool >10) // Tool number is out of range, so we need to stop here...
return;

if(Newtool == Currenttool) // Same tool was selected, so do nothing, stop here...
return;

if(Newtool == 0 || Newtool >10) // If new tool number is 0  means a missing T code, so we need to stop here...
{
MessageBox.Show("The TOOL # is out of range 1 - 10 , Correct the Value and Restart");
exec.Stop();
return;
}

if(!exec.GetLED(56)||!exec.GetLED(57)||!exec.GetLED(58)||!exec.GetLED(60)) // If machine was not homed then it is unsafe to move in machine coordinates, stop here...
{
  MessageBox.Show("The machine was not yet homed, do homeing before executing a tool change!");
  exec.Stop();
  return;
}

while(exec.IsMoving()){}

// Get current XY machine coordinates to return to this position at the end of the macro

double Xoriginalpos = exec.GetXmachpos();
double Yoriginalpos = exec.GetYmachpos();

// Stop spindle if running and Move Z up

exec.Stopspin();
//MessageBox.Show("G00 G53 Z+ SafeZ"); // Move Z up");
exec.Code("G00 G53 Z"+ SafeZ); // Move Z up
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// Open Dust Collector
exec.Setoutpin(2,1);                 // Open the Dust Collector
while(exec.IsMoving()){}

if(Currenttool!=0) // No need to drop down tool if current tool number is zero
{
  // Drop old tool

 // exec.Code("G00 G53 "+" B" + ToolB[Currenttool]);
  //while(exec.IsMoving()){}

  // Drop current tool
 
  //exec.Code("G00 G53 Z"+ Ztoolrelease); // Move Z axis down to tool holder position
  //while(exec.IsMoving()){}
  //exec.Setoutpin(Chuckopenport, Chuckopenpin); // Open the chuck with pneumatic valve
  //exec.Wait(1000); // Wait one 1000msec
  //exec.Code("G00 G53 Z"+ SafeZ); // Move Z up
  //while(exec.IsMoving()){}
}

// Move to new tool position on XY plane
// MessageBox.Show("G00 G53 Y"+DustCollector+ "B "+ ToolB[Currenttool]);
exec.Code("G00 G53 Y"+DustCollector+" B" + ToolB[Currenttool]);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G00 G53 Y+YTootChangePos)");
exec.Code("G00 G53 Y"+YTootChangePos);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G00 G53 Z+ToolDown)");
exec.Code("G00 G53 Z"+ToolDown);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
//Wait unti spindle is off



//Check that the spindle is really off before delivering the tool
do
{
exec.Wait(50);
SpindleSpeed = Convert.ToDouble(AS3.Getfield(870));
}
//MessageBox.Show("SpindleSpeed ="+SpindleSpeed );
while(SpindleSpeed != 0);

// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G0 G53 Y+YTootPos+.25)");
exec.Code("G0 G53 Y"+(YTootPos+.1));
while(exec.IsMoving()){}

// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G1 F30 G53 Y+YTootPos)");
exec.Code("G1 F30 G53 Y"+YTootPos);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
//MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G4 P.75)");
exec.Code("G4 P.75");
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// Tool Release
{exec.Setoutpin(2,14);                 // Release Tool
}
//MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G4 P.75)");
exec.Code("G4 P.75");
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
//  MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G1 F10 G53 Z & ToolDown+.25)");
exec.Code("G1 F10 G53 Z" + (ToolDown+.1));
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
exec.Clroutpin(2,14);           //  Clamp Tool
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G0 G53 Z + ToolUp-2)");
exec.Code("G0 G53 Z" + (ToolUp-2.25));
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G0 G53 BToolB[Newtool])");
exec.Code("G0 G53 B"+ToolB[Newtool]);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G0 G53 Z & ToolUp-2)");
exec.Code("G0 G53 Z" + (ToolUp-2.25));
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
{exec.Setoutpin(2,14);                 // Release Tool
}
// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G0 G53 Z & ToolDown+.25)");
exec.Code("G0 G53 Z" + (ToolDown+.1));
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G0 G53 Z & ToolDown);");
exec.Code("G1 F10 G53 Z" + ToolDown);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// Clamp Tool
exec.Clroutpin(2,14);           //  Clamp Tool
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
exec.Wait(1000); // Wait one 1000msec
// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G1 F30 G53 Y+YTootPos-.2)");
//exec.Code("G1 F30 G53 Y"+(YTootPos+1));
//while(exec.IsMoving()){}
// MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G00 G53 Y+YTootChangePos)");
exec.Code("G00 G53 Y"+YTootChangePos);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
//MessageBox.Show("  exec.Code(G00 G53 Z+ SafeZ)");
  exec.Code("G00 G53 Z"+ SafeZ); // Move Z up
  while(exec.IsMoving()){}

//MessageBox.Show("  exec.Code(G00 G53 Y+ DustCollector+5)");
// exec.Code("G00 G53 Y20"); // Bang the Dust Collector
// while(exec.IsMoving()){}


// Move back to start point
//MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G00 G53 X + Xoriginalpos +  Y + Yoriginalpos)");
exec.Code("G00 G53 X" + Xoriginalpos + " Y" + Yoriginalpos);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}

//MessageBox.Show("Reset Tool Offset");
exec.Code("G49"); // Reset Tool Offset

exec.Wait(200);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}
AS3.Setfield(Newtool,1003);

if(!exec.Ismacrostopped()) // If tool change was not interrupted with a stop only then validate new tool number
{
  exec.Setcurrenttool(Newtool); //Set the current tool -> the new tool

//MessageBox.Show("exec.Code(G43 H+Newtool)");
exec.Code("G43 H"+Newtool); // Load new tool offset
exec.Wait(200);
while(exec.IsMoving()){}

//MessageBox.Show("Tool change done.");
}
else
{
  exec.StopWithDeccel();
  MessageBox.Show("Tool change was interrupted by user!");
}
Meri
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:09 pm

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:01 am

The only thing I have to work out now is shortest distance code for direction of carousel
Max 6 tools
Uc300eth on router and mill.
UK uccnc powered machine sales. https://cncrouter.uk/atc-cnc-routers.htm
Automateanything/duzzit cnc/mercury cnc
Battwell
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:53 pm

Nice. This is what I am looking for. We are doing a similar type ATC, but not the Geneva drive, just a stepper with a backshaft encoder. Slides into position, rotates and our Z moves in and out of position. I'm curious if anyone has written a screen interface for setting up the tool per slot yet?

How is this project coming along?

We just finished up building our R8 spindle and power draw bar. So hoping soon this will be the next project.

Hoping to add some more videos tonight, now that I have it all plumbed in proper and set. The first videos were just simple tests and some are of the frame we built for our mill (yes these used to be Taigs....LOL). https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFCKp9 ... subscriber
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:38 pm

Vmax549 wrote:UCCNC does not use slot Numbers only Tool numbers so I am not sure of your request. IF you look closely my example shows teh tool table where teh Slot Numbers can be assigned to a tool number for reference. Then you can auto update teh tool table based on teh slot numbers requested.

Now it would be NICE if UCCNC recognized slot#s as an ATC option but it does not.

(;-) TP


I was looking for a custom screen where you can fill that table. Assigning the slots to tools. How are you accomplishing that? Midi the data in? In my post on the other thread, I linked a vid where someone did that in Mach3, and I know we can do custom screens in UCCNC. So was curious if anyone had already made one up for a simple carousel style changer. I saw one for the more complex changer, but didn't see any files posted.

Thanks for the info.
Jasen
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby asuratman » Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:05 pm

How difficult to install the atc if we have one ready like this http://salecnc.com/catalog/product_info ... cts_id=279
asuratman
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:50 pm

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Spinweight » Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:48 pm

Battwell

Thanks for sharing that clip of your code!
I have the same type of rotary ATC with a Geneva drive and your code will work for my carousel so I really appreciate learning how to advance the tool slots.
Have your completed your M6 macro?
I would love to see your progress!
Spinweight
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:21 pm

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Spinweight » Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:50 pm

@ThreeDJ16
Hows your ATC project working?
I have a similar type Geneva drive carousel.
I would be excited to see an example of a working macro for it.
Spinweight
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:21 pm

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:09 pm

Spinweight wrote:@ThreeDJ16
Hows your ATC project working?
I have a similar type Geneva drive carousel.
I would be excited to see an example of a working macro for it.

We are sidelined for the moment working on a linear rail project. But since the beta software has tool tables now, things should be a lot easier than before. We are also hung between a single and dual arm style changer for the atc carousel. Hopefully by summer we'll be back to this project. Just made more sense to have our linear rails first as it will change a lot of dimensions for us.
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Macros

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests