rotary tool changer- carousel

This is where you talk about Macros, show examples of your macro scripting and SHARE handy segments of script code as examples.

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Vmax549 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:54 pm

Is there a need to index teh spindle ? Does teh spindle / toolholder have lugs ?? DOes it need them?

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am

yes- it uses bt style holders so the drive dogs must engage in the spindle at the correct orientation. i tried load of things yesterday- but still having a problem with getting the spindle to stop exactly at the right angle.- even ramping up the speed from 0 to very slow- then when pulse is seen killing the pwm to analogue chanel.
there is no spindle brake.
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:48 am

im pretty confident i can add rotary to my already written linear changer code (which i wrote for my big router) - that way everything is saved to profile as it goes.. it was too much work writing that to only use once!
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Vmax549 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:12 pm

Well there are several ways to index teh spindle . SHot pin, Cam and roller , encoder index with brake, VFD and DC injection on signal , Stepper motor and spindle signal.

What method did teh original controller use ??

Are you planning to do rigid tapping ??

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:13 pm

original used none of the above :-(
was done with just 1 sensor input, fwd run signal and analog.

by the way- i worked out geneva drive control ok now so no need for any additions to that
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Vmax549 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:15 pm

Yes but it was a servo drive so it can stop on a signal with precision (;-) then lock the rotor. If you change out teh Analog drive to a step direction you can do the same thing.

Drive to teh signal then stop and even rotate to needed position.

That is what Derek does only his setup uses a stepper motor to run teh Power Drawbar. He engages teh PDB and then refhomes to teh spindle index signal then rotates to teh correct spindle position for teh ATC then locks teh Spindle.


(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Vmax549 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:18 pm

Instead of changing teh servo drive out how about a Step/Dir to analog convertor board.

Just a thought, (;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 9:09 pm

theres no reverse run on the drive- has to be done via a contactor to reverse :-(
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 9:12 pm

i think an ac servo is going to be easiest option. (built in psu etc)- just swap the motor if i can find something that will fit.
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Previous

Return to Macros

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest